When you have made your changes to a document, you are able to send it back to the Counterparty for further negotiation and edits.

You can achieve this by navigating to the 'Send Document' button in the top right corner.

Once you have clicked on this, you will be taken to a new page where you can stylise a covering message which will be sent to the Counterparty, notifying them that they are being invited to review the document.

Once this has been sent out and the Counterparty has entered into the document, you will be locked out of the document and won't be able to edit it until they send it back to you. This is because, on Avvoka, we have the concept of 'holding the pen'.

What does 'holding the pen' mean?

Holding the pen simply means that only one party to a document at any time has the right to access and edit the document on Avvoka. When one party is holding the pen and has these editing rights, the other party is locked out of the document and unable to make edits. This not only ensures that edits are cleanly auditable, but that each party has complete privacy when making their edits too.

What does this look like in practice?

Hint: Make sure you enable your audio so you can hear our voiceover explanation!

Did this answer your question?