The new update includes;
Layering minor saved changes of a template.
Publishing templates to the create area of the platform
A new version history tab which tracks every version of the template.
Organisation support users can port a template, they now have the option to release a template version to their organisation on demand.
Now, there is more than one way to save a document on Avvoka. Clicking ‘Save’ creates a minor save of the template. Each save creates multiple layers of the template which are stored as different versions. For a minor save, the version moves a decimal number up (0.1 to 0.2) which will show at the top of the template editor, opposite the name of the template. Each version of the document will be stored in the ‘History’ area of the platform (see below).
Users in the Create area do not have access to ‘saved’ templates. The template would need to be published.
Publish is the second method of saving a template and is equivalent to a major save of the template. Publishing a template will make the template visible in the Create area, so that users with New document rights can go ahead and start drafting from this template.
Once a document is published, a text box appears prompting the template user to include release notes (see below) for that version of the template. The version number will move to v 1.0 when a template is first published. This will show in the template editor on the top bar, opposite the name of the template.
When a template is published, there is always the option to ‘Unpublish’. Doing this only removes that document from the Create area, preventing create users from accessing that template.
Template users can access different versions of the template, whether saved or published, in the ‘History’ area.
Release notes are automatically prompted whenever a new minor or major version of a template is created. It allows users to see explanatory text for each version of the template which will show in the History tab. Release notes are option for both minor and major versions.
The History tab is located on the left sidebar of the template editor. In the History area, the user can access multiple versions of saved and published templates and view the release notes.
This area will display which template is the current published version, when it was saved and who created it. Whenever a new template is published, it will turn from version 1.0 to 2.0.
When you select an old template version, whether it is saved or published, there is an option to restore that template. Restoring a template will turn it into the most up-to-date version.
If a user chooses to archive a template, all the versions associated with that template will be archived. This means a user cannot archive different versions of a singular template.
Porting a Template
Porting a template is only accessible to organisation support users.
This feature enables support users to stand on a template they are working on, and optionally release it to a selected destination in the organisation only once they are satisfied with it.
It is accessed by clicking on the Support tab, going to templates and selecting any template. Once a template is selected, there is a button on the top right of the editor to port that template version.
A port version can only be sent across its organisation. Once the button is selected, a pop-up appears prompting the support user to send this version to its selected destination via a dropdown. This will save the template as a new latest version of the template you are porting to.
What does this look like in practice?
Hint: Make sure you enable your audio so you can hear our voiceover explanation!